How doggedness, tenacity and perseverance are building a business established to save #peatlands (& make money, of course)

A tiny, cream colored, Shiba Inu and her prized chew toys were brought in to my home recently by a couple that fostered the dog for a few weeks. The original owners gave her a year and a half long test drive but decided she wasn’t working out. The fosters would have loved keeping the dog but the wife learned she is allergic to the breed’s dander and I suspect a few of Yoko’s quirks too. The dog snapped at a young visitor in their home. Her Swiss born husband was clearly bonded to this foxy little girl and slightly devastated by my willingness to adopt his irritable orphan. Calling an incident free week after the drop-off to check in, Yoko clearly recognized his distinct Swiss/German accent over the speaker. After we hung up I gave Yoko a rub behind the ears and a favorite chewie to calm and comfort her.

Many of you may be asking yourselves what in the world does this have to do with a blog dedicated to PittMoss™ and our business start-up. To be honest, it’s been a long time since I’ve lived with a dog so observing Yoko’s behavior has been insightful to say the least. I’m amazed at the recall and focus she has and it reminds me of the meaning behind the expression, dogged determination. She whined for about a week whenever she would go near a recliner in my living room. One recent night I sat down to watch a bit of the Stanley Cup Series and kicked back. Yoko immediately jumped up on the footrest and dug out a shoe shaped chew toy from the exposed folds and carried it around the rest of the night.

2013-06-17_09-28-41_246

When she sets her mind to something, she fixates and isn’t easily refocused. It made me realized that’s precisely where I am at the moment with my start-up and after a sixteen-year effort to put life into this product I think I know a little about doggedness. Since I don’t have a full time career (and paycheck) distracting me any longer I think I’ve been a bit more focused than normal. Besides being dragged out to see a movie last week it’s been forever since I’ve done anything resembling entertainment outside my home or office. Surprisingly, I find myself forgetting to eat. Now I can almost hear a few snickers from those of you who know me best and admittedly it’s not very often, but it happens.

It seems nothing is more important to me than installing the new equipment, filling our existing orders (that now equal about 10% of our first year goals), developing a brand identity and reeling in an investment that has been pledged (and accepted) by a wonderful Angel, who I’ll tell you about when all the ink is dry. We are planning for the launch of our improved plant in July and we hope to kick-off a crowd-funding campaign in August. The chew toy buried in the seat cushions, the ultimate goal or dream in all of this is one day cornering the horticulture peat moss market and witnessing the demise of commercial peat extraction. So, fair warning to anyone getting between my new fixation and me. I’m not in any mood to play and I will bite!

About Mont @PittMoss

Just trying to change the world a little bit before I die & get old. Inventor of PittMoss® & Founder/CEO of PittMoss LLC. Ambridge, PA. www.pittmoss.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

