Celebrating The Last Day On Someone Else’s #Job

So after a couple of decades of getting up to go to work for someone else I find myself at 4:33 AM today, contemplating a future of never working for anyone else but myself, ever again. My remaining obligations to VisitPittsburgh wrapped yesterday and now I’m up early to prepare my first PITTMOSS(TM) Development Company payroll. Oddly enough, the memory of another pre-dawn morning from August 1982 has been elbowing it’s way into my bleary eyed consciousness as I try to focus on work. On that day my dad took this eighteen-year old, smart mouthed, sulking kid to meet a bus. It was the beginning of a journey that would train a new soldier and make new men of us both.

Despite a slight containment issue PittMoss(TM) commercial production is on track.

Despite a slight containment issue PittMoss(TM) commercial production is on track.

My dad, who was the same age I am now, had been laid off like most of the other men in the steel-making region of Northwest Indiana and our family was “making due” with mom’s wages. Still, it surprised me when I was told college was out of the question, unless I had a plan to pay for it myself. It wasn’t long before I was sitting in front of a recruiter. Not long after that I was in the cab of my dad’s pick-up truck, waiting for a Greyhound, bound for an Alabama Army base. I don’t recall that we communicated a great deal that morning, listening to the rain and the slapping of the windshield wipers, but there was definitely an understanding between one another.

He had worked hard for thirty years to provide for his wife and five sons and now found himself unable to do so in the prime of life. Now that the mills and his union livelihood were probably gone for good he would have to evolve in some way and endure a transition to a new, late stage, career. Waiting for that bus, outside of an Indiana donut shop, he somehow expressed his pride and gratitude in a son becoming responsible for him self. As we embraced and said our goodbye I understood that setbacks happen, that only those who quit are ever truly defeated, and, to never expect, but to be grateful to those who provide you assistance.

Progressing through my military and subsequent, G.I. funded, college and occupational careers, I cheered dad’s development of a successful real-estate appraising business that he only recently closed due to retirement. In many respects, dad’s loss of his safety net, union job, was absolutely the best thing that could have happened to him, in hindsight. While his evolution into small business ownership was one of necessity and mine is more self-inflicted, I hope to endure the growing pains of change from employee to employer with as much grace, perseverance and self–reliance. I’m desperately in need another cup of coffee now, but I’m so glad this memory decided to pay me a visit this morning, reminding me to thank a great teacher and mentor. Thanks Dad!

About Mont @PittMoss

Just trying to change the world a little bit before I die & get old. Inventor of PittMoss® & Founder/CEO of PittMoss LLC. Ambridge, PA. www.pittmoss.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Celebrating The Last Day On Someone Else’s #Job

  1. Nicco Garrett says:

    We are all made up by the sum total of our experiences and im convinced that everything (good or bad) happens for a reason.

  2. Barbara Hollie says:

    You should think about a second career in writing! I love your pieces and look forward to the next installment!

    Barbie

  3. cindy says:

    So happy for you Mont! Agree with Barbie – very moving writing.

  4. Mark H. says:

    Mont,
    I concur with Barb as I too have enjoyed your posts! I would have never imagined that the once “soft spoken Army Private from Indiana” could, or would eventually have the ability to captivate an audience with written content. As for your decision, I only wished I had the testicular fortitude to drive on and attack my true desires. You are an inspiration to many and I have no doubt that you will someday be very well known throughout the industry and have a substantial bank account to prove that chances are in fact worth it! It’s at this point that I should wish you luck but I will refrain from doing so merely because you need no luck, I know you can, and will succeed at this endeavor! Keep me posted on your progress for I am just as excited to hear the favorable outcome! Mark H. (an old friend)

    • I don’t think I have heard the expression “Testicular Fortitude” since the 556 MP Co and after spending nearly two years in close proximity to those radioactive bunkers I’m just happy I still have a pair. Thanks for the kind words Mark and you may be included in a future blog post centered on one 1969 Robin’s Egg Blue Fiat Spitfire ragtop.

  5. Randy says:

    Mont

    Nicely written. Sounds like your father set the best example. All the best and best of luck.

    Randy

  6. Craig says:

    Mont,
    Very happy for you. Praying for guidance, wisdom and success in this new venture. If you need any help from a Texan, please let me know how we can help you from God’s country in Texas.

Leave a comment